Mincemeat Bars

The old wood stove in the corner of the dining area.

My Mother always makes her famous Mincemeat Bars at Christmas. They are so yummy, soft and chewy! It was an unusual holiday this year with us all camping out in their unsold empty home in Arizona. I missed them this year and of course didn’t get a photo! I may have to break down and make some myself.  Hopefully they will be half as good as Moms.

She has shared the recipe along with her own special touches here. Enjoy!

Mom wipping up a batch of her famous scrambled eggs with the works! Sausage, onions, peppers, chese on top, and salsa for me thanks.

Christmas Mincemeat Bars

(I call them Fruit Bars though)

This recipe is from my very old Betty Crocker Cook Book

Sophie Kerr and June Platt, writers and gourmets of note, include a similar recipe for these wonderful cookies in their fascinating book, “The Best I Ever Ate.”  I added some notes.

Mix thoroughly;
1 tbls. soft butter
1 ½ cups brown sugar (packed)
2 eggs
2 tbsp. molasses
1 tsp. vanilla

Sift together and stir in;
2 cups sifted Gold Medal Flour
½ tsp. soda
1 tsp. cinnamon     (I add more)
1 tsp. cloves    (I add more)

Stir in;
3  tbls. Hot water

Then stir in;
¼ cup sliced almonds (I use broken walnuts or pecans or chopped almonds and double the nuts.)
¼ cup seedless raisins    (I double the raisins)
9 oz. pkg. mincemeat broken up.  (I use ½ jar mincemeat)

Spread thin in 2 greased 13×9” oblong pans or pan of equal size or cookie sheets. Dough puffs and fills in any holes as it bakes. Bake until, when touched lightly with finger, no imprint remains.

Spread immediately with mixture of;
1 ½ cups confectioners’ sugar
About 3 tbsp. hot milk
½ tsp.  almond flavoring

Temperature: 400’ (mod. Hot oven).
Time: 12 to 15 minutes
Amount: 6 doz. 1 ½ x 2” cookies.

Eb’s note: I usually use a bit smaller pan, its okay if they are a tiny bit thicker, they just need to cook a bit longer, but not too thick. Cut when cool and store covered with wax paper. Can be frozen after baked in air tight container till ready to serve. I have never used packaged mincemeat as I couldn’t find it when I found this recipe. The jar mincemeat is great. This is my Christmas favorite and party favorite as it makes a lot and I always double it and use a full jar mincemeat.

Eunice Blevins, December 27, 2007 Mincemeat Bars

Sitting around after a meal picking at all the holiday goodies and telling lies to each other! I missed the Mincemeat Bars!

This entry was posted in Family, Food Discussion, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mincemeat Bars

  1. Hi Sarah, Hey, good memories. We sure had a really great time Thanksgiving in the old house in Kingman. We did have the Fruit Bars at Christmas in Utah tho. I forgot to put in the soda so they were a bit on the flat side, but moist and chewy. No one complained. They just didn’t raise as they should have. I froze a bunch of them and just got them out from the freezer the other day and only have a few left now. They were still good anyway…

    Thanksgiving was such a wonderfull time with all of us, the grandkids and Great Granddaughter and Pams other family. Sure glad we bought the table and few pieces of odds and ends of furniture. Did you get pics of all of that? Well, keep up the marvelous work. I’m so glad you have put all this history together. We all need it. I have to get the other things for you soon. Bye for now…love..mom (ps Hi to all).

  2. fauxchef5 says:

    I will try these this afternoon. My mom loves Mincemeat pie. I was looking for a recipe that can get mailed to her for the holidays. This will make her happy. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

