Krackers “n” Ketchup For Dinner

My dinner companion didn’t seem very impressed when I said “Crackers and catsup!” to his query about tonight’s dinner. I sometimes make crackers from scratch and boy are they good! But today has had many other projects filling it so no homemade crackers, we succumbed to store bought. I reminded him he hadn’t tried the catsup I made a couple weeks ago and suggested we  put it on the dinner table.

“What in the world will we eat it with ?” he asked. Well, just about anything I thought.

I sliced today’s cucumbers into a beautiful black ceramic bowl my friend Pat made, added a big dollop of sour cream, salt and pepper, celery seed and a touch of red pepper flakes and set it aside.

A jar of lemon basil pesto was thawing and the edamame dip had been created earlier. I washed and dried and sliced the okra and a handful of stray green beans, cracked a couple fresh eggs and mixed a mess of cornmeal and flour together. The okra and green beans received the egg and flour to be fried in a hot wok of oil.

I opened a can of pork and beans to kind of round out the meal and asked if he would like a slab of cheese. No cheese tonight.

Dinner was soon ready, the main course crackers and catsup! It had been my first attempt at catsup and I had cooked it down a little long I think and it turned out thick, sweet and rich, almost like a chutney. Delicious on crackers! Almost good enough to put on ice cream! The edamame dip was made with some of the soy bean harvest, my garlic, cilantro and sour cream.

The Menu

Catsup, with crackers

Edamame Dip

Lemon Basil Pesto

Cucumbers in Sour Cream

Okra, fried

Green beans, fried

Iced Tea

*   *   *   *   *

Yum!

A meal fit for a Queen and a King! Yum! All the vegetable matter came from my garden this year.

Be on the lookout for the Edamame Dip and cracker recipe later on.

This entry was posted in Everything, Food Discussion and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

