Lazy Day

A day off is a mixed bag of tricks for me. For a day off I’ve been very busy and at the same time feel like I’ve been lazy.

You may know my brother has been living with me for the last year. Most of that time he has been self employed (unemployed), and around the house much the time. He recently got a job and today is his 12 hour day. I have felt like a kid in a candy store having the place all to myself for so many hours.

I started the day by sleeping in a little late. I had planned on going to West Plains and going on an herb Walk with my friend Sasha who leads several of them each spring. Today was the last planned one on her agenda so I was really looking forward to it.

The weather was less than pleasant. At least 8 or 9 lines of storms, some quite intense passed through between early am and noon. I cancelled my attendance for the herb walk having recently recovered from a bout of respiratory difficulty.

So I swept and mopped the upstairs, cleaned my desk off (no easy task), emptied and organized a closet, checked the weather and Email, filled 8 boxes with stuff to go to the auction next week and took 2 naps. It’s almost 5 o’clock now and I still need something to do so here I am!

I’ve recently discovered the local auction. I’ve always known it was there but never went. I felt a little intimidated by all that weird lingo and such. But, a couple weeks ago Bro and I went. I learned the ropes so to speak and am eager to take some junque there. Actually, last week Bro hauled a trailer full of serious junk from cleaning around the shed to the auction and I earned a whopping eighteen bucks!  So, you might say I have auction fever.

I haul boxes and bags of stuff to the thrift store all the time, sometimes stuff I’d like to sell but my location is not conducive to yard sales. Sooo … I figure if I’m not using it (and haven’t in no one knows how long) then anything I get for it is more than I had.

You might be asking yourself “what part of the day did she feel like a slug?” It’s the part where I’m still in my pj’s and the 2 naps and the leisurely book reading I’ve managed to fit in.

 

Headed to the auction.

The stash I’m taking to the auction is 2 boxes of old glasses, a food dehydrator I don’t need, misc. cups and decorative bottles, tapes, a rug and more misc. stuff than you can shake a stick at.

You may be thinking now “she is a serious hoarder!” I have been. All my life. I’m turning over a new leaf now. And stuff is on it’s way out! No more ball and chain for me. Hopefully.

I am missing my spring garden this year very much. It’s in the throes of refurbishment and at a standstill. I am harvesting strawberries, rhubarb and a bit of collards from volunteers. All is not lost, but dang I miss fresh spring peas.

See you at the auction.

 

This entry was posted in Everything, Tidbits and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Lazy Day

  1. Will says:

    I should have those kind of lazy days.

  2. Will says:

    Anything in there I might want?

  3. eb - mom says:

    Just as long as you don’t spend more than you get…laffin

  4. eb - mom says:

    As long as youi don’t spend more than you get, Unless….its good stuff…laffin

  5. laura says:

    LOL – you have a friend who just moved into a house and has no furniture or much of anything else (it’s all in Wyoming still!) Would love to take some junque off your hands!

    😀

Leave a Reply

