The Last 3 Peaches…

The last 3 peaches!

… are still on my kitchen counter. Weighing heavy on my mind and in my gut! I couldn’t bring myself to eat them this morning after the last few days. Yesterday I only ate two but the day before I had seven. Not all at once mind you! So there they sit, waiting for me.

These peaches were nearly ripe when I bought them and they have had a fine shelf life for peaches. I will return to the same orchard next summer and buy more. This fall I plan on getting pears from them… the trees were loaded!

Potato patch. Try not to notice all the weeds in the background.

This morning I pulled a few weeds, chopped a few weeds, watered the little potato patch, which was acquisitioned from Marideth earlier this summer, and swept the patio/s. Then I looked at the peaches again… maybe later I’ll eat them.

.

UPDATE!  This just in… “The peaches came from Carson’s Orchard up toward Willow, and the variety was Jefferson, one I’d never heard of before. If you wanted to grow a peach tree, it would be a good one to try, because it matures later and is freestone. Most peaches, including this one, are self-fertile, so you’d only have to plant one. However, the variety comes from a grafted tree, so you won’t get a Jefferson from a Jefferson peach pit.”

Recipe; Brandied Peaches

This entry was posted in Food Discussion and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

