Goin’s On at Moonmooring

I wrote this post several days ago and forgot to post it! How very silly… or is that BUSY of me! Here it is now. Enjoy!

We did a lot of eating, visiting and card playing.

My parents have been visiting since Monday. Yes that is one day before I returned home from Dauphin island. This weekend my son and his long time girlfriend, Holly, will join us. Along with my brother and my friend Will we will make seven. That doesn’t seem like too many for dinner but there is a lot of hustle and bustle around food in this house.

We all have such particular tastes, likes and dislikes.

Anyway, Mom and Dad came out from Utah where one thinks of it as hot and dry, and it has been plenty of that. In fact I envy that dry part especially after this almost week long of rain. Here I am complaining already after the long hot and dry summer we had here that created unheard of claustrophobia in me because I curtailed my outdoor activities to such narrow bands of early morning time. Even them it was usually stifling and thick. You know, thick air. Thick with humidity which would burn off somewhat later in the day usually.

So they, Mom and Dad were feeling a little claustrophobia from all the rain as was I. Off we went to West Plains yesterday in a heavy rain, to the Harlin Museum to visit the Smithsonian “Journey’s” exhibit. It will run for two more weeks and has received quite a few visitors. We all enjoyed the leisurely perusal of the exhibit, then lunch, some window shopping in the Antique Mall on the square and a much needed trip to the evil empire, Wal-Mart, for neccessities.

I found fall vegetable plants at Wal-Mart and spent a portion of last evening transplanting baby collards, broccoli, cauliflower and cilantro! Should be enough to keep me through the winter, barring too much “unusual” weather.

I can’t remember anything normal about the weather this year. A beautiful perfect spring (which has brought an abundant harvest of local fruit all summer, unusual in its’ lack of a late freeze thus annihilating most of the harvest), an unusually hot and dry summer, and now an unusually wet, hot September. Whine, whine, whine. I would just like to sleep with the windows open a few nights in some refreshing evening air I guess.

Tomorrow’s food plan is banana pancakes for breakfast, an all time favorite of Adrian’s, then hamburger stew and homemade biscuits with plenty of butter, homemade jams and jellies and honey! Sunday we will have the cardiac arrest special; fried tators, sausage gravy, (more) biscuits and scrambled country fresh eggs.

This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Goin’s On at Moonmooring

  1. Will says:

    and it was all good

  2. eb - mom says:

    And we had a fantastic time…It was so realxing for us, no hurrying everywhere. And it was so good to be with you kids and grandkid and better half’s….Hope I didn’t miss someone..

Leave a Reply

