Sunsets and Massages

Three glorious hours in the afternoon sunshine and breeze, giving massages high on a deck next to rustling leaves, migrating bird chirping and giant chimes gonging occasionally. The afternoon slowly faded to sunset as I finished the last person and packed up my belongings. The fading sun reflected on the pond, surrounded by well tended fields and massive oaks. I could imagine a labyrinth mowed into the grasses. I would have one if it were my choice.

I love doing massage therapy outdoors but this summer was overly plentiful with it’s heat and prevented me even thinking about it. So here it is October 2, seemingly the last warm day of summer/fall. But, having just checked the weather report it looks like we’ll have another full week of warm sunny days. A little tinge of cold the next two nights then back into the 70’s and 80’s.

That’s good news for my newly planted fall garden. Especially the cauliflower which is still to be in the (actual) ground. Transplanted twice already it eagerly awaits real dirt to spread it’s proverbial wings. The 20+ collard plants are ready to give up to the first cutting and I plan on that for Sunday lunch seasoned with a little bacon and some onions. The 8 cabbage are in the ground with partial shade/wind/cold protection around each one. I didn’t realize I had that many old milk crates lying about! And all 30’ish broccoli are in the dirt! With just a little luck I will be eating high on the hog this winter. There is still a bunch of onion sets and about 200 garlic to put out.

All that and persimmon collecting, which is going slow, a grand Hubbard squash to cook up and the last of all the peppers I have accumulated over the last few days from various sources! People just have so many of them right before the first freeze.

That is my Hubbard squash on the bottom left, squaring up with a size 13 shoe! Gonna make a lot of delicious dishes!

Now if I could just find the time to get a massage for myself! Hope you are enjoying your Fall, I’m counting on it being a long lazy warm one.

See what the West Plains produce market had last Tuesday! Literally tons of squash and pumpkins from the Amish community.

This entry was posted in garden, Tidbits and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sunsets and Massages

  1. Lorrie says:

    Your squashes look fabulous and I need a massage! Great photos too Sarah!

  2. laura says:

    I second that! Your squash look yummy and a massage sounds like bliss! Never had one outside, but I love the idea! 🙂

Leave a Reply

