Vintage Cars and such

I’m not big on parades. They’re noisy and sometimes people throw things at bystanders. Then there’s all that horse manure to deal with afterwards. I am open to experiencing new situations in new light though. Narrow minded people irritate me so I try not to be one myself.

This was my favorite car. I like the style and the color is vibrant!

 

LAst weekend (not this past one) the parade in West Plains was in honor of Veterans Day. My favorite part of it was the vintage automobiles. On the other hand I know next to nothing about old autos and makes and such. I’m looking forward to someone/s throwing some information my way on identifying these cars. Thanks ahead of time.

 

It's a beautiful courthouse on the square in West Plains.

The approach of the parade.

Another favorite part, the motorcycles.... nice noise.

The star of the parade!

Part of the Community Scholars Regional Workshop was learning that Folklore is being created all the time, it is not specifically linked to any one era. Documenting current events that show tradition are and / or will be tomorrows folklore. Current documentation will much more accurately portray Americana/folklore/and ultimately culture .

Wikipedia defines culture (in relationship to this article) in the following manner;

  • An integrated pattern of human knowledge, belief, and behavior that depends upon the capacity for symbolic thought and social learning
  • The set of shared attitudes, values, goals, and practices that characterizes an institution, organization or group

Parades are an important part of current culture, evolving over time and differing in presentation by their geographic location, event of portrayal and “group” of people participating as viewers and creators.

Enjoy a parade. I think I’ll make an exception and visit the Mountain Home Christmas parade this year. If it’s not freezing rain! See ya’ll there!

This entry was posted in Everything, Photography, Tidbits and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

