My First Denim Quilt

Several years ago I spent a long winter in this big old place. It seemed I had little to do. It was way before computer times, for me anyway. So I got this idea to make a quilt. This denim quilt isn’t the first quilt I made but it is the first denim one.

Front side of this up-cycled denim quilt.

I can’t recommend this pattern. Not in denim anyway! Too many matching corners and with the volume of fabric there is to deal with when four pieces of denim get sewn together! Well, it was tough on my sewing machine. Which by the way is about 14 or 15 years old. It is a New Home and has served me well! Still going strong.

This quilt is about 5 1/2 feet long by 4 1/2 feet wide. A little small but perfect for me. I often use it on the ground or in the car when I travel in winter. It has  single layer of flannel in the middle and is backed by ticking, which I love by the way. It is hand tied; less than the recommended space. It gets washed regularly and hasn’t slipped. 

I love ticking for quilt backs and would enjoy a quilted jacket with ticking. Just haven’t gotten to that project yet!

It’s a very heavy quilt and toasty warm, making it a great addition to my car in winter. Since this one I have made several other in a slightly different pattern. I offset the quilt squares and actually cut them in random lengths. More on that subject later. The one I made for my son is totally out of balance! Because he is so tall he wanted it to be extra long! He got it and loves it too.

The quilt has a slightly puckered aspect. I purposefully sewed the layers together and tied it before washing the flannel. When it was laundered the first time the flannel shrank just a little bit giving it a slightly pillowy aspect and raised the bar on warmth. The small air pockets this gave the quilt is an added factor in insulating and warming.

The fabric in the quilt top is all up-cycled from jeans my son wore. The plaids are leftover fabric from PJ’s I made for him when he was younger. He went through this quaint plaid phase.

Stay tuned, I think I might be sharing more with you about my adventures in quilting, such as they are. Nothing extravagant!

This entry was posted in Everything, Quilt and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My First Denim Quilt

  1. Margaret Underwood says:

    Love, love, love your quilt, Sarah. I have two friends who are quilters. I used to be big on weaving and had fun introducing it to my young students in elementary school and junior college. The French teacher in one of my schools told me that I was the only teacher that was applauded when I walked into the classrooms. They loved art.

  2. eb - mom says:

    And I love my denim quilt and Dad loves his…

Leave a Reply

