Squash for Dinner

There area few things I never get enough of in summer; squash, pesto and cantaloupe. I was turned on to a delicious cantaloupe at the Mountain Home farmers market Wednesday and some great yellow squash. My preference is for straight neck but crook is fine. Beggars can’t be too choosy when it’s the last batch of squash on the table. There’s plenty of pesto in the freezer from last summer to keep me this winter.

So I fried a mess of squash for dinner and got my fill, for now anyway.

Beat one egg onto a flat dish and coat each piece of squash on both sides.

Dredge the pieces in flour or cornmeal and fry in hot olive oil till tender, golden, and crisp on the outside.

A perfect summer dinner! My preferred condiment is either horseradish sauce or my version of Aioli Sauce. Finish it all off with cantaloupe or other fresh fruit.

Aioli Sauce

My version of Aioli

some mayo (or Miracle Whip)

a clove of garlic crushed and minced

lemon juice

Mix to taste

This entry was posted in Everything, Food Discussion, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Squash for Dinner

  1. eb - mom says:

    Wow..great recipe…I will have to try this, Im sure its going to be good and a nice variance to what Iusualy do. Looking forward to your coming and doing some of your own receipes. And I missed all your ‘local stuff ‘ while you were gone. Love you…mom

Leave a Reply

