Forsythia in November; What Zone Are We In?

The forsythia is budding and blooming in zone 6a. I took this photo on Tuesday morning, November 22, 2011. The dogwoods are in full bud also. Further south in zone 6b I haven’t seen anything budding out yet nor are the bulbs coming up. I believe the bulbs need to experience a deeper cold spell than we’ve had. Well any cold spell would probably work since we haven’t had one yet. All the rain and balmy fall weather has a lot of plants confused. If the cold snap we are expecting materializes all these blooms will be gone. As it should be.

This entry was posted in Everything, Flowers, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Forsythia in November; What Zone Are We In?

  1. adamweaver says:

    Wow, that’s wild. Where is zone 6a/6b?

  2. eb - mom says:

    Very nice…mom

  3. Ben says:

    Hi! I found your blog accidentally while seeing if other people were writing about this. I just came back from Thanksgiving in Massachusetts (I live in VT), and was shocked to see that in my mother’s yard her forsythias were in bloom! She was a little concerned, but not nearly as much as I was. That’s also a zone 6 I suppose, but even further north. Here in VT I’ve heard that box elder trees have begun to leaf out in spots (we’re probably a zone 5), and heard from others that even lilacs are blooming in MA. What is going on?! I’m a forest ecology grad student, and this doesn’t sit well with me.

  4. luigi says:

    crazy, but i had a dream about a month ago that the world was not right and i was showing my wife the blooming forsythias in the dream. And today the 30th of november some of the forsythias are blooming here on long island. Whoa

Leave a Reply

