Pea Planting

Some of you my be sick of me talking about planting peas. Every spring it’s the same ‘ole same ‘ole… how to plant peas, when to plant peas, how to eat them, how to sprout them, peaspeaspeas. It’s that time of year again.

You know I traditionally plant my peas on Valentines Day. I even planted them in a snow one year. I missed my mark this year though. The ground was covered in snow, a couple inches of it. Most of it has melted by this evening and I expect tomorrows planned rain will deal with the rest. Then Thursday should be balmy with sunshine. I will plant peas Thursday!

Last night I put them to soak with tepid water in a mason jar then drained them this morning. I placed a damp paper towel on a plate and carefully laid out the peas, covering them with the damp folded paper towel. Keep them moist but not soaking wet until they sprout. It takes 2, 3 or 4 days. I’m betting on 2.5 days for first sign of sprouting because they are going in the ground before I go to Yoga! Nature will have to be in charge after that.

I have 90 organic snow pea seeds. Really that should be enough. But I will plant more. At least that many shelling peas and maybe some with edible pods.

This entry was posted in Everything, Food Discussion, garden and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

