Off To Utah, Again; page one

Off to Utah this afternoon/evening. Visiting my parents who are getting a little frail. My brother spent the month of May with them (he took a voluntary layoff) and my sister spends some weekends with them every month. No, I am not nor are they Mormon. People ask that. Although there is some interesting old family history associated with the Mormon religion. Perhaps I will share that at some point. My flight leaves at 5:30 in the morning! Ugh in a major way! Stay on the lookout for photos of beautiful southern Utah and old people. Ah! I almost forgot, my dad’s brother, Uncle Leon, will be present for a few days. I haven’t seen him in years. I see lots of old-timer stories in my future and yes I have the camera and recorder. A few photos from previous trips to wet your whistle. Stay tuned!

I will be seeking stories from Dad about him growing up in the Arizona desert near Globe, his early adulthood, married to Mom and with children by the time he was 19 years old, his adventures on the pipeline as a ditch machine operator and anything else he might want to share with me. Dad and Uncle Leon were both in the Marines so I expect at least a few stories  from that part of their life. I am hoping Mom will have her turn at sharing – she grew up in Phoenix, Arizona and moved with her family when she was eight years old to the Ozarks. That was in 1949 and Arkansas was particularly rural then.

Stay tuned and be on the lookout for photos of Utah and old people!

Bryce Canyon, Utah

Bryce Canyon, Utah

signature, Sarah

This entry was posted in Everything, Family and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Off To Utah, Again; page one

  1. eb says:

    Counting the time before we pick you up tomorrow..I was 11 when my family moved to Ark from Az. in 1950..Dads family moved to Ark from Az in 1949.. Its all a bit confusing I know… Uncle Leo wasn’t in the marines, your Uncle Gary, my brother went, into the marines together with your Dad. Hey..see you soon

    • S says:

      Good grief! Am I ever going to get this family history stuff right!? Thank you Mom!! See you tomorrow.

      • eb says:

        Yea, it sure is confsing, but you have so much of it right, and if we wern’t doing this, gosh where would we be in rcalling everything..Loce you, on my way to bed…see you soon…love you

Leave a Reply

