A Hand of What!?

imagesA True Christmas Story

Have you ever run across the perfect gift for someone by accident when you were not even shopping for gifts? Apparently that’s what happened to a friend – she was out and about and spied something to gift me with for Christmas, something totally unexpected. Unexpected for her and me.

A cryptic message came my way the day after Christmas – “I have a little something for you, it’s kind of perishable but not really, you’ll understand when you see it”.

Any takers on what it was yet?

This gift was so perfect! But only for me and only from her. It could not have been given to me by anyone else nor could she have given it to another. Noses would have wrinkled for sure.

The perfect gift can be so aloof, so unexpected, so painfully weird to the ungifted. This gift fit all those parameters.

IMG_9649 - Version 2

A couple days later we met for coffee after I had been assured the item would not expire in that time frame. She apologized for the gift wrap and handed me a small badly wrinkled brown paper sack folded over on the open end and a kitsch red wired ribbon bow simply folded around the package. I was intrigued.

IMG_9649

“It’s not much I just thought you’d like it”, she stated. “Not many people would appreciate something like this. It’s not much of a gift wrap job, probably the worse in the world”.

I gently retrieved the small battered looking package she was handing to me and cradled it in my hand. “I love brown paper gift wrap and red ribbon”, I said. I pulled off the stiff coil of ribbon setting it aside as if it were made of gold and gently opened the bag and poured the contents into my left hand.

And there sat in my hand a full hand.

I whooped with joy and laughter and exclaimed loud enough for folks at nearby tables to look our way with glaring eyes. Laughing, giggling, exclaiming my utter joy over the simple piece of rooty vegetation in my palm, completely recognizable for what it was but having never seen one in such glory I gushed over it’s beauty and magnificense. “WHERE did you get a full hand of turmeric so fresh and with stem on it?” I queried. “It’s beautiful! Oh my goodness what a perfect gift! I love it!”

IMG_9651

The wrapping paper was perfect. The gift was perfect. Magic can be found in the most mundane times, places and things.

That hand of turmeric will be diced and sliced and minced into eggs, stews, rice, chicken pot pie, slivers of it will steep in my morning coffee. And I will always cherish such an amazing, thoughtful gift from someone who knows me so well they can confidently buy me a hand of turmeric and know I will swoon over it. Thank you Marideth Sisco.

I hope you all had a beautiful Christmas and found some beauty, some peace, some love on that most precious day. If you did not then now is a good time to plan some for someone else next year. To give is to receive.
signature, Sarah

Dice 1/2 onion and a fist full of celery hearts. Shred about 1 Tbls. of fresh turmeric, a couple cloves of garlic, 1 Tbls. fresg rosemary, and 8-10 fresh sage leaves. Heat 1-2 Tbls. olive oil in a saute pan and cook the onion and celery till limp. Add the turmeric, garlic, rosemary and sage. Cook just till the aromas come to a head. You'll know. Don't overcook!

Nothing smells quite like the aroma of sauteing garlic, ginger and turmeric – in this case – for chicken pot pie – garlic, turmeric, celery, onion, and parsley.

Bonnie appetite to all my favorite and new peeps.

And to you Gene, my most favoritest.

This entry was posted in Christmas, Everything, Food Discussion, Holidays, Just A Story and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Hand of What!?

  1. Bebe says:

    I didn’t guess the tumeric, but did guess it was from Marideth !

Leave a Reply

