Hugel… what…?

Hugelkultur it is!

A week or so ago this gardening technique ran by my awareness enough times to get me to take a look at it. I shared the info with Gene and suggested we fill a gaping hole in the yard with this git’up. And so he did.

A very tall pine tree grew for decades in the yard way too close to the house for my comfort and my son Adrian dropped the tree last spring. You may remember… The tree was in a stoned up tree well and I was left with a huge partially burned out pine stump and a rock lined hole big enough to park a Volkswagon.

Taking a break - Adrian and his dad and Gene dropped seven big trees this day. The yard was a mess!

Taking a break – Adrian and his dad and Gene dropped seven big trees this day. The yard was a mess!

One thing and then another and then Hügelkultur to the rescue. I’m really excited about this method of gardening and we will likely build more of these.

It’s a small Hugelkultur bed – about 8 feet X 8 feet at best. Big enough to experiment with and get the feel of how this works.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I understand a Hugelkultur bed will mature around the third year it is built and can last as long as twenty years without any attention other than planting and harvesting. So I don’t expect much from it this year or the next but in 2019 it should really be primo!

This is what it looks like right now. A bit too tall we think so Gene will take it down about half way and put more branches on it instead of as many logs. THEN it will be covered with manure and dirt. And plants. There will be more pictures as we go along.

This is what it looks like right now. A bit too tall we think so Gene will take it down about half way and put more branches on it instead of as many logs. THEN it will be covered with manure and dirt. And plants. There will be more pictures as we go along.

We are well into January and as promised the seed catalogs are arriving. It has been many years since I’ve really perused seed catalogs and so I ordered way too many – but how can you resist such vegatative beauty? I am loving every one of them. In all honesty though I will probably only order seed from one or two of them, Baker Creek  being my favorite and fairly local of course.

You may remember mention of a straw bale cold frame earlier this fall. It was not much of a success. It seems that without outdoor cats various rodents found the straw bale to be a lovely place to snuggle into. I did manage to keep about a half dozen good looking cabbage starts that will go into the ground by the end of next month or sooner.

Looking through the cloudy glass of the cold frame. Next year - Plan B.

Looking through the cloudy glass of the cold frame. Next year – Plan B.

Happy gardening and healthy eating to you all!

signature, Sarah

This entry was posted in Everything, garden and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hugel… what…?

  1. Anonymous says:

    Very interesting. Yes I have been following your posts. Thank you….Love. mom

  2. Pingback: Hugel… what…? | Moonmooring – WORLD ORGANIC NEWS

  3. Helen says:

    Good luck with your hugel bed – it certainly looks impressive. I haven’t built anything too spectacular but I think hugelkultur is a great idea 🙂

    • S says:

      Thanks! I have high hopes for it long term. I’m sure there will be more pics and info as it goes along. Thanks for checking in to Moonmooring. 🙂

Leave a Reply

