Musings On a Spring Day – in January !?

bio picWishing there were current photos of the garden but it is January and it’s a little bleak out there. It’s rather confusing actually. The last few days have been blustery, balmy, warm, sun-filled and downright pleasant. But cold weather is coming our way again by way of the most recent storm from the west coast.

I did a major survey of the yard these past days and found the jonquils up and six plus inches tall, lilacs budding, iris popping through and a desperate need to pick up branches and other winter refuse.

We totally by accident acquired ten dump trucks of fresh wood chips from right of way clearing and strategically placed to mulch flower beds and garden plants and cover walkways. Check out some of these videos on the merits of wood chips. I believe we have clean wood and shouldn’t have any problems with it. Keep the chips away from your house and out buildings because of possible termite infestation.

In the process of learning about how to use wood chips in the garden I also learned about rock dust which I didn’t really understand. Long story short I will be adding that to the garden beds this spring. Between the biochar, rock dust (Azomite if I can get my hands on it reasonably), compost, a little wood ash, some gypsum and the wood chip mulch I am so looking forward to a super charged garden year.

Yesterday's bread - good and chewy but a little flat and needing more salt. And we will create a "proof box" to let it rise in as the kitchen is seldom anywhere near eighty degrees on the warmest day winter or summer.

Yesterday’s bread – good and chewy but a little flat tasting and needing more salt. We will create a “proof box” to rise in as the kitchen is seldom anywhere near eighty degrees on the warmest day winter or summer.

Gene made some sourdough bread yesterday. It was so delicious. Seems he used to make bread weekly when he lived “out west” years ago. Ay some point he gave some of the starter to a friend, Dan, who is supposedly still using the same starter to make his own bread. So Gene got some from him and sourdough it was! We obviously have some tweaking to do because it wasn’t really flavorful enough for either one of us. After some online research I for one am pretty overwhelmed with sourdough science! But carry on we will!

You may know I owned a bakery at one time. Years ago – mid eighties – for about six years I started the donuts late every night. It was a mom and pop kind of affair and we made a whole line of baked goods including breads, but not sourdough. So this is new territory for me and kind of exciting to be learning a new bakery thing.

I guess the big news today is this – the planting has started! Yes. I transplanted a half dozen baby cabbage and prepped a place for bak choy, radishes and cilantro which will all go in the ground tomorrow. The cabbage is under heavy plastic jug hot caps and the choy, radish and cilantro will be covered with a mini greenhouse clear plastic bin. Testing the temp inside an upside down bin today brought the temp to almost 90 F! Wow!

My first seed order came in yesterday and that was certainly fun! I ordered corn seed and a few other things from Botanical Interests. Two varieties of corn, Bodacious and Peaches and Cream both of which I have eaten and thoroughly enjoyed. This will be my first time to grow corn. Yes I know about cross pollination and will take precautions.

Still looking for some leek starts to drop in my lap. I’m not too concerned about the variety this spring as long as I can get some started soon. This fall I will try my hand at starting them from seed which is coming from Baker Creek soon. In the meantime maybe someone has a dozen or so to share?

Remember those near daily garden pics from 2012 and 2013 from Marideth's garden? Here's a reminder of that very special garden I worked in those years. I think mine will rival that this year!

Remember those near daily garden pics from 2012 and 2013 from Marideth’s garden? Here’s a reminder of that very special garden I worked in those years. I think mine will rival that this year!

Happy spring day in January! Hope YOU got some hammock time – I sure did.

feet in hammock 1

signature, Sarah

This entry was posted in Everything, garden and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Musings On a Spring Day – in January !?

  1. Helen says:

    Impressive amount of wood chips! I’m thinking about getting some for my front garden. Our council sells them, but I think they go quickly.

Leave a Reply

