Onions, Leeks and Black Snakes, Oh My!

I’ve had a blog post brewing in my head for several days now but cannot get any coherent words on paper so to speak. The pics I took are kind of yucky, ho hum, so so. Especially the latest snake pic. Crazy big black snake – yes it really was a black snake this time – snoozing between the screen and the glass door. We just let him hang out and he curled up into a ball of sleek blackness for an overnighter. When the sun hit the south wall he warmed and slid on down the road. Our lizard and frog populations seem to have dwindled notiecabley…

So apparently this is a blog post after all.

At least 5 feet long maybe more, this lovely was curled up and zigzagged and draped out the door and around a bucket.

At least 5 feet long maybe more, this lovely was curled up and zigzagged and draped out the door and around a bucket.

Lets talk about onions and leeks at least. The garden is in a lull. The cool weather stuff is finishing up and the warm weather stuff won’t be ready for a while. That said we are still gathering a few snow peas, plenty of lettuce, onions and herbs. I believe the green beans aren’t long before flowering.

Back to those onions and leeks then. TOTAL inexperience with leeks has brought me to take on the whole tamale, err leek growing process. I planted a couple dozen leek seeds broadcast in a sour cream container and they grew! Funny looking things. The variety is Autumn Giant. Yea wrong season maybe. Time will tell.

I watered, and showered them with sunshine and trimmed them a couple times so they would beef up. And they have beefed up, enough that I finally felt brave enough to separate them out and transplant them to peat pot cells this afternoon. They look fine so far!

I ended up with 15 thready little leeks that to me are just lovely!

I ended up with 15 thready little leeks that to me are just lovely!

A friend turned me on to home grown fresh out of the ground leeks last spring and I have been eagerly awaiting more of them. Then I found out she wasn’t growing this year. So I contacted Vinnie at Elixer and they had already planted out everything they had. So I was left with the only option being to plant and hope for the best. We might get a few scrawny leeks this fall depending on the summer temps but by gosh I fully intend to have a big crop of them come next spring.

So. I did a little research and found this guy’s blog and he is cloning leeks. I’m going to give it a try. I’ll need to make some calendar adjustments taking into account the opposite hemispheres we are in. I think that will be manageable. And you know I will let you know how it all goes.

Onions, onions, onions. Will someone please just give me a complete timeline from seed to  flag leaf emergence to bulb enlargement! I will Google this much more. In the meantime these Tokyo Longs were direct sowed on February 1. They haven’t gotten very big, 8 – 10 inches tall.

I'm not sure if they should be transplanted or thinned or what. They are attractive.

I’m not sure if they should be transplanted or thinned or what. They are attractive. Time to weed.

In other onion news, the third generation onion butts are raising the roof and beefy! Sorry no photo.

Gene picked these lovely Spiderwort and ___ for me several days. Lets talk about Spiderwort one of these days.

Gene picked these lovely Spiderwort and ___ for me several days. Lets talk about Spiderwort one of these days.

Of course there is a plethora of fungi growing with all the rain we’ve had this spring. I know absolutely nothing about mushrooms except they are often beautiful and best left alone as far as I am concerned.

IMG_0805

Do you grow onions or leeks and how do you do it?

Looking forward to your comments!

Some of you may be eager to hear how the Cushaw is doing and I promise to post an update on them soon.

signature, Sarah

This entry was posted in Everything, garden and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Onions, Leeks and Black Snakes, Oh My!

Leave a Reply

