The Flower Garden

Last week the sunflowers started blooming.

Last week the sunflowers started blooming.

Last week the flower garden was polite looking. All the flowers were just starting to bloom and they were upright and well weeded. We went away for a few days, there was a couple big rains and a bit of wind and some balmy weather. There is no politeness to be found out there now. It is a mass of tangled chaotic beauty and I love it.

I have never had a flower garden. Flower seeds and baby plants have been placed in the ground many a year but seldom thrived for whatever reason – until this year. Marigolds usually don’t even do well for me as I have stated previously. They have made a fool of me this year by overrunning the place!

My brilliant plan was to set up a sixteen foot cattle panel, acquire a couple buckets of aged chicken manure from Adrian’s stash of about a gazillion tons in some old chicken barns on his place and purposefully plant a few giant sunflower seeds, some Mexican sunflowers and broadcast all the really old outdated flower seeds that never grew for me. We did all that. The marigolds were the first thing to cast concern on my flower deprived psyche.

Flaming Mexican sunflowers - so beautiful.

Flaming Mexican sunflowers – so beautiful.

Hundreds of marigold seeds germinated and grew. All the giant sunflowers and Mexican sunflowers sprang forth. The little marigold and ageratum plants I purchased from the store to seed color in case nothing else worked took hold. Then those store bought flowers cowered. Then they kind of came up at it again. Now they are buried in a riot of cascading blooms of Mexican sunflowers too numerous to count. The marigolds have been thinned and thinned. Do you have any idea how difficult it is to pick a perfectly healthy plant and throw it away?! Shaking my head… I cannot believe how many of them we disposed of. And there are still too many and crowded together.

Ageratum and marigolds a little close together but holding their own.

Ageratum and marigolds a little close together but holding their own.

A few zinnias came up, easy enough for me to identify, but no other flower seeds. Unless I thought it a weed and pulled it which is perfectly possible. There is some vining thing that looks like it might be a flower but no buds yet. Time will tell. There is also a mullein but I’m not sure it can keep up. And some cucumbers because I read they like to be planted with flowers. But they too are lagging behind the effusive mangle of floral wealth in that space.

This is what an effusive mangle looks like…

One effusive mangle at your service. Hundreds of blooms are ready to pop any minute now. To my chagrin - too much orange. I had hoped for more variety and some splashes of pinks and purple.

One effusive mangle at your service. Hundreds of blooms are ready to pop any minute now. To my chagrin – too much orange. I had hoped for more variety and some splashes of pinks and purple.

Ageratum some say is an old fashion flower sometimes difficult to find in these parts. I love the purple of it next to marigolds but there is not nearly enough showing to carry the color through the flower garden.

Ageratum some say is an old fashion flower sometimes difficult to find in these parts. I love the purple of it next to marigolds but there is not nearly enough showing to carry the color through the flower garden.

This is the tallest of the sunflowers. It measures over nine feet tall now and has dozens of blossoms on it. The birds are keeping a close eye on it.

This is the tallest of the sunflowers measuring over nine feet with dozens of blossoms on it. The birds are keeping a close eye on it. I am absolutely tickled to have this growing in my flower bed!

THis was an unkempt pot of dirt until a couple volunteers decided to use it for a home. Zinnia and a marigold plant. Imagine that.

THis was an unkempt pot of dirt until volunteer zinnia and marigold decided to make it home.

Next year I will plan a little more carefully and put in less seeds. Although I imagine the marigolds will self sow and try to dominate everything again. I also imagine some blue vining flower… what is the name of that…?

Happy gardening! And look for the June garden update soon. It has been a busybusy month around here!

signature, Sarah

This entry was posted in Everything, Flowers, garden and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Flower Garden

  1. Anonymous says:

    Alll I can say is ‘WOW’ and beautiful….You finally did it..I have so few flowers planted, and mostly in pots an things. Just in case the house sells before winter. Its not on the market yet tho

    Hey…when can I remove bulbs from the ground to save and plant at the new house???? and if I have sto store them what is the best method….I need to save a few of each kind of bulb I have planted.. I hate to walk away and leave them all.

Leave a Reply

