Time On My Hands ! ? What…

I never have time to spare. Never. But today there I was sitting at the kitchen table playing solitaire in the middle of the day. For about an hour. Then I wandered off to find some other aimless activity. I edited some photos, realized the garden should have been photographed today but now the light is gone, tasted tonight’s soup again, looked in the laundry bin and finally found myself at the computer. Here. Right here typing away for you.

You can see pictures of the garden that I posted five days ago  here. It seems things have nearly doubled in size since then! Finally we have had some spring rains and moderate weather, sorta.

I am troubled by a recipe. You may know I seldom use a recipe or if I do it gets tweaked radically. You may know that I consider a recipe a mere suggestion. So why would I be troubled by a recipe? Well.

When we were out west in February my sister made what she called California Rolls. They were DELICious! I loved everything about them. Perfection in a tortilla. With fresh crisp veggy things and a bit of protein. I figured they could be duplicated easy enough. I could see what was in them. Simple. Right. ? No.

The ingredients seemed a bit scanty once rolled up. Maybe about 25% more “stuff” altogether.

I made what I thought was a reasonable facsimile. They were awful! Boring! Drab. The most ho-hum food to grace my kitchen in quite a while (oh please don’t mention that week and a half spell I couldn’t cook anything decent a while back… it happens to all of us). These faux California Rolls tasted like ground up cardboard. Really.

So I asked Pam (my sister) to send the exact recipe and I planned on following it. Which I did. What… do they have extra special deliciouso avocados in Arizona? Or better spicy sprouts? Is their something I should be adding to the mayo that no one is telling me about?

These too were very close to average. The underside of average. Less than. Edible and way better than the first time. But not good enough to make them again.

Here is the recipe. I hope you make suggestions.

California Rolls

Dice a tomato and set it aside to drain

Dice 2 green onions, set aside

Mash an avocado with 1 tablespoon of sour cream or mayo and a 1/2 teaspoon lemon juice and a pinch of salt (I added some pepper here)

Spread the mash on 6 tortillas (I used 4) to within 1/2 inch of the edges

Cover with lettuce leaves or other light greens

Cover with sliced deli turkey or ham

Top with sprouts (I used a spicy mix)

Sprinkle with tomato, onion and some shredded cheese

Optional: bacon bits, diced cucumber, shredded radish (that’s my idea:) )

Roll up tightly and cut in half or thirds. Happy dining!

I used crumbled bacon, but not the deli meat (ugh). No other changes. I would have liked the shredded radish – we use that a lot on veggy sandwiches.

They just turned out like crap and I do not know why. Please offer suggestions!!

Thanks. Bonnie appetite ya’all!

This entry was posted in Everything, Food Discussion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Time On My Hands ! ? What…

  1. Bebe says:

    raw salmon…………..for sushi

    • S says:

      ACK! I have tried so many times to like sushi and I just don’t. Sashimi yes but sushi and me are not the best of friends.

  2. Bebe says:

    oh…..and sushi ginger

Leave a Reply

