The Dangers of Pea Salad

I know that you know peas to be one of my favorite topics. I love to plant them, tend them, harvest peas, and eat peas of all kinds especially snow peas and fresh English peas. Sugar snaps – not so much. No.

So another article about peas should come as no surprise. Except for that word “danger”.

My mother made pea salad when I was a child. She used Velveeta cheese, canned peas, a bit of onion I’m sure and plenty of Miracle Whip. I don’t remember anything about bacon but there might have been some tuna or a little elbow macaroni even. Maybe. I hated it!

Canned peas get mushy and I did not care for that one bit! So I was surprised when adulthood came and I wanted pea salad. I still didn’t like it. Some decades passed and earlier this spring I thought, “self, all these delicious fresh English peas available you should try that pea salad thing again”. So I did.

I looked at the recipe from Ree, the Pioneer Woman, I looked at the New York Times recipe and all manner of recipe in between. They were all pretty much the same. Peas, cheese, onion, S & P, a little vinegary stuff and some dressing of mayo and/or sour cream. Crumbled bacon seemed to be a popular option too.

So I put the best of the best from all those similar recipes and made us some pea salad.

Boy was it good!

My mistake was in serving it as a main dish for dinner with a slice of crusty bread and some fruit. We are not vegetarians but we do often eat meatless meals and this one offered the cheese as a partial protein. Nonetheless it was a mistake. Be forewarned.

We ate the whole thing. Because you know… main dish. Let us take this recipe apart.

THERE IS NOTHING IN IT EXCEPT FAT!!

Well, there is that little bit of onion and the egg I added but it can hardly balance all that fat! That said, the pea salad was totally delicious. And next time I will serve it as a salad (which it is called after all) and make sure there isn’t any other fat-rich dishes alongside it.

Here is what I did.

Pea Salad

by Moonmooring

a few slices bacon cooked crisp and crumbled

1 hard-cooked egg diced

6 ounces smoked cheddar, diced

1/3 cup Miracle Whip (your choice here)

1/3 cup sour cream

1/2 fresh lemon squeezed to make juice, seeds removed

1 small clove garlic, crushed

2 tablespoons minced parsley

dash smoked paprika

salt and pepper

1/2 small red onion sliced thin

2 cups fresh English peas, I used them raw

Prepare the bacon and drain. Prepare the cooled egg and dice the cheese. Mix the dressing ingredients – mayo, sour cream, lemon juice, garlic, parsley, paprika, and salt & pepper, into a bowl big enough to hold everything. Add all the other ingredients except the peas and stir to coat with the dressing. Taste and adjust the seasonings if need be. Stir in the peas last. Serve immediately or allow to sit for a few hours.

Save yourself a tummy ache and remember to serve this as a side dish with something light. Poached or braised chicken would be nice.

PRINT THIS RECIPE

Bonnie Appetite ya’all!

This entry was posted in Everything and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Dangers of Pea Salad

  1. Tauni Whitley says:

    Oh GEEZE Sarah … that was just tooooo dang funny!!! Well … “fat pea cassarole” here I come!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

